Full list of League of Legends Worlds winners LoL Review

Full list of League of Legends Worlds winners throughout the years

League of Legends Worlds Championship Winners: An In-Depth Analysis

As a historian of the prestigious global eSports championship, League of Legends Worlds, I have compiled a comprehensive list of winners, runner-ups, and unique moments from the inaugural tournament to the most recent edition. League of Legends has undoubtedly become a globally recognized sport that has produced some of the most memorable moments in eSports history.

Throughout the years, League of Legends Worlds has evolved from a humble competition into a global phenomenon that attracts millions of viewers worldwide. The neck-to-neck rivalries between regions such as the LCK and LPL and individual players like Faker have helped shape the landscape of eSports as we know it today.

One cannot mention Worlds without acknowledging the considerable impact that Lee “Faker” Sang-hyeok had on the sport. His influence on competitive League of Legends is immeasurable, cementing his title as the greatest player of all time.

Throughout the history of the League of Legends Worlds Championship, several teams and players have left their mark on the scene. In this comprehensive analysis, we will review the best moments, final scores, and trends, focusing on the most remarkable teams and players who have risen to dominance.

SK Telecom T1 and Faker: The Unkillable Demon King

Notable Victories: Worlds 2013, 2015, and 2016

We are the warriors that built this town.” Since 2012, we have been leading the esports landscape with our long-standing history of competitive excellence. From **SK Telecom T1’s 2013 League of Legends World Championship victory, to DAMWON Gaming’s historic run in 2020, we have consistently brought home international titles by competing at the highest level. Our teams have secured first place finishes at Worlds for eight consecutive years and counting – from 2013 through 2021 – earning a combined prize pool of over US$13 million along the way. We are proud of our tradition of bringing home championship titles and showcasing that winning spirit. Join us as we continue to carry on this legacy and make more remarkable esports history!

Lee “Faker” Sang-hyeok is the face of League of Legends, having won three Worlds championships with his team SK Telecom T1 (now T1). Often considered the greatest League of Legends player of all time, Faker has consistently displayed exceptional skill and adaptability.

Strengths: T1’s success can be largely attributed to Faker’s extraordinary mid-lane presence, game sense, and decision-making. With strong macro play, T1 has been able to control the pace of games and maintain map pressure, enabling them to secure leads and close out matches.

Weaknesses: Although Faker’s talent has often carried T1 to victory, the team’s reliance on their mid-lane can sometimes hinder their performance in the face of strong coordinated play from opponents.

Samsung White and Galaxy

Notable Victories: Worlds 2014 and 2017

Samsung White and Galaxy lol winners

These teams excelled in their respective years, with impressive team coordination and individual talent. Samsung White won the 2014 Worlds Championship with a 3-1 victory over Royal Club, while Samsung Galaxy took home the 2017 title after sweeping T1 in a 3-0 victory.

Strengths: Samsung White’s aggressive early game and roaming potential enabled them to create insurmountable leads that they snowballed into victory, while Samsung Galaxy exhibited exceptional teamfighting and objective control.

Weaknesses: Weaknesses for both teams are relatively scant, but their sometimes over-aggressive playstyle could be exploited by opponents with strong disengage and counter-engage.

The Rise of LPL Teams: Invictus Gaming, FunPlus Phoenix, and Edward Gaming

Notable Victories: Worlds 2018, 2019, and 2021

The Rise of LPL Teams

The recent rise of the LPL has produced three Worlds winners: Invictus Gaming (2018), FunPlus Phoenix (2019), and Edward Gaming (2021). These teams have challenged the LCK’s dominance and brought about increased diversity in playstyles and team compositions.

Strengths: All three squads showcased individually skilled players and excellent team coordination – Invictus Gaming with their aggressive solo lanes, FPX with their creative roams and rotations, and Edward Gaming with their strong objective control.

Weaknesses: Despite their newfound dominance, LPL teams can sometimes be inconsistent, exemplified by occasionally disjointed teamfighting and overreaching in their aggression.

The Future of Worlds and Emerging Teams to Watch

With the rise of LPL teams and the ever-present strength of historically dominant LCK teams, the next editions of the Worlds Championship promise to be exciting and unpredictable. As emerging regions such as the LEC and LCS continue to improve, watch for teams like Cloud9, MAD Lions, and Rogue, who could challenge the established powerhouses on the international stage.

New trends and strategies are always emerging, with champions like Seraphine and Viego recently making their mark

Full list of League of Legends Worlds winners throughout the years

Worlds 2011 Fnatic EU US$50,000 50%
Worlds 2012 Taipei Assassins LMS US$1,000,000 50%
Worlds 2013 SK Telecom T1 LCK US$1,000,000 48.78%
Worlds 2014 Samsung White LCK US$1,000,000 46.95%
Worlds 2015 SK Telecom T1 LCK US$1,000,000 46.95%
Worlds 2016 SK Telecom T1 LCK US$2,028,000 40%
Worlds 2017 Samsung Galaxy LCK US$1,855,114 37.50%
Worlds 2018 Invictus Gaming LPL US$2,418,750 37.50%
Worlds 2019 FunPlus Phoenix LPL US$834,375* 37.50%
Worlds 2020 DAMWON Gaming LCK US$556,250* 25%
Worlds 2021 Edward Gaming LPL US$489,500* 22%
Worlds 2022 DRX LCK US$489,500* 22%
Worlds 2023 T1 LCK US$445,000* 20%

**Figures are based on the minimum guaranteed prize pool of US$2,225,000. A percentage of in-game sales has not been included in these earnings.

In honor of all our incredible teams who helped shape this rich legacy, here is a review  of our championship titles from the past eight years:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *